Attractions around

The charms and Magic of Salzburg region

Sourrounding the Zell am See – Kaprun region, there are countless opportunities for exciting daytime activities and adventurous excursions to both cultural and historical sights. Be it enchanted fairytale castles and medieval knight’s fortresses, wild life and adventure parks, millennia-old cultural monuments and fascinating natural wonders – within a radius of 100 kilometers all ages and tastes will find a suitable and animating offer.

About Mozart, mirabelle plums and fairytales
Salzburg city

Like a silent guardian, Hohensalzburg Fortress towers high above the city. Mozart’s “Magic Flute” whispers softly in your ears as you stroll from window to window through the Getreidegasse. The melody of “Eine kleine Nachtmusik” can be felt almost physically. Mozart’s traces lead you past his birthplace in the direction of Mirabell Palace, the garden of which is world-famous these days. The horse-drinking, the Salzburg cathedral, the trick fountains in Hellbrunn Castle – Salzburg, birthplace of Mozart, birthplace of fairytales. Although the city has never been an imperial seat, one can sense an aura of imperial mystery and magic in the air…

Magical ice in the middle of summer
The world’s largest ice caves in Pfarrwerfen

Thousands of years old, crystalline and clear. A labyrinth of caves in eternal ice. Frozen sparkles as far as the eye can see. In the giant ice world of Pfarrwerfen it is not only the sub-zero temperature that produces goose bumps. Attractive and aloof, the ice caves hold a peculiar fascination for its visitors. A tinge of ice age – a world full of magic. In any case, bear in mind to bring along warm clothes, since even in midsummer the cave’s interior barely reaches more than zero degrees Celsius.

White gold inside the mountain
the Salt Worlds in Hallein
“White Gold” – not without reason, salt carries a gilded name. The mysterious tunnels of the salt mines in Hallein tell the story of the century-long wealth of a whole region. Starting about 600 years before Christ the inhabitants of the region began to remove salt from the depths of the Dürrnberg. As a sustainable livelihood the salt brought work and prosperity to the Celts as well, a process you can explore at the adjacent SALINA Celtic village. Set out on an unforgettable journey back in time and experience living history!

Image © Salzwelten / Podpera https://www.salzwelten.at/de/presse/

Colorful Middle Ages in the Pongau
Hohenwerfen Fortress

Dominating a high promontory in the middle of the mountains, it overlooks the Salzach valley. Looking majestically, Hohenwerfen Fortress invites our inner child to dream. Who has not yet imagined to be a knight in shining armor, defeating fearsome dragons and liberating fairytale maidens from their misery? Hohenwerfen Fortress in Salzburg Pongau will carry you off into a colorful medieval world. Meet jugglers, fencing artists, riders, falconers, blacksmiths, wood carvers and many other medieval castle dwellers.

Alpine wildlife within reach
Wild life park Ferleiten

Capricorns, marmots, wolves, bears … In the wild and adventure park Ferleiten you will have the opportunity to observe more than 200 different alpine animal species in their natural habitat. Whether feeding wild animals or visiting the petting zoo – the close encounter with your hero animals will certainly get under your skin. In the interactive exhibition pavilion, you can even dive under the water surface and also explore the life of mountain lakes and rivers.

When nature meets technology
Wasserfallboden and Moserboden reservoirs

Where nature meets technology, the most stunning things happen. Surrounded by the 3000 meter summit world, situated on the border of the Hohe Tauern National Park, the two high mountain reservoirs Moserboden and Wasserfallboden offer a location where green power is generated from hydroelectric energy. Both the “Electricity and Ice Adventure World” museum and guided tours of the dam wall at 2000 meters will give you the opportunity to get to the bottom of green power generation.

Ausflugsziele

Zauber und Magie im Salzburger Land

Von der Region Zell am See – Kaprun aus gibt es unzählige Möglichkeiten für abenteuerliche Ausflüge zu kulturgeschichtlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten und erlebnisreichen Tagesaktivitäten. Ob verzauberte Märchenschlösser und mittelalterliche Ritterburgen, wilde Freizeit- und Erlebnisparks, jahrtausendealte Kulturdenkmäler und faszinierende Naturspektakel – im Umkreis von 100 Kilometern ist für alle Altersgruppen und Geschmäcker das Passende dabei.

Von Mozart, Mirabellen und Märchen
Salzburg Stadt

Wie eine stille Wächterin thront die Festung Hohensalzburg hoch über der Stadt. Leise erklingt die Zauberflöte in deinem Ohr während du in der Getreidegasse von Auslage zu Auslage flanierst. Beinahe körperlich spürst die Klänge der Kleinen Nachtmusik. Mozarts Spuren führen dich an seinem Geburtshaus vorbei in Richtung Schloss Mirabell, dessen Garten heute weltbekannt ist. Die Pferdetränke, der Salzburger Dom, die Wasserspiele im Schloss Hellbrunn – Salzburg, Mozartstadt, Märchenstadt. Obwohl die Stadt nie kaiserlicher Regierungssitz war liegt in Salzburg ein Hauch von KaiserInnenduft in der Luft…

Eiszauber mitten im Sommer
Eisriesenwelt Pfarrwerfen

Jahrtausende alt, kristallen und klar. Ein Höhlenlabyrinth im ewigen Eis. Gefrorenes Glitzern soweit das Auge reicht. Die Eisriesenwelt in Pfarrwerfen sorgt nicht nur aufgrund ihrer Minusgrade für Gänsehaut. Anziehend und unnahbar übt die Eishöhle eine eigentümliche Faszination auf ihre Besucher aus. Ein Hauch von Eiszeit – eine Welt voller Magie. Warme Kleidung, solltest du dabei keinesfalls vergessen denn auch im Hochsommer erreicht das Innere der Höhle selten mehr als null Grad.

Weißes Gold im Berg
Salzwelten Hallein
„Weißes Gold“ – nicht grundlos trägt Salz einen vergoldeten Namen. Die geheimnisvollen Stollen der Salzwelten in Hallein erzählen die Geschichte des jahrhundertewährenden Reichtums einer Region. Bereits 600 Jahre v. Chr. begannen die damaligen Bewohner der Region Salz in den Tiefen des Dürrnbergs abzutragen. Als Lebensgrundlage brachte es auch den Kelten Arbeit und damit einen Wohlstand, dem du im angrenzenden Keltendorf Salina auf den Grund gehen kannst. Geh auf eine unvergessliche Zeitreise und erlebe Geschichte zum Anfassen!

Bildnachweis © Salzwelten / Podpera https://www.salzwelten.at/de/presse/

Buntes Mittelalter im Pongau
Erlebnisburg Hohenwerfen

Auf einem Felsvorsprung inmitten der Berge erhebt sie sich über das Salzachtal. Majestätisch anmutend lädt die Erlebnisburg Hohenwerfen unser inneres Kind zum Träumen ein. Wer hat sich nicht schon einmal vorgestellt als Ritter in scheinender Rüstung furchteinflößende Drachen zu besiegen und märchenhaft schöne Burgfräulein aus ihrer Not zu befreien? Die Erlebnisburg Hohenwerfen im Salzburger Pongau entführt dich in ein buntes Mittelalter. Begegne Jongleuren, Fechtkünstlern, Reitern, Falknern, Schmieden, Holzschnitzern und noch vielen weiteren mittelalterlichen Burgbewohnern.

Die alpine Tierwelt zum Greifen nah
Wildpark Ferleiten

Steinböcke, Murmeltiere, Wölfe, Bären… Im Wild- und Erlebnispark Ferleiten hast du die Chance über 200 verschiedene Tierarten der Bergwelt in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung zu beobachten. Ob Wildtierfütterung oder Streichelzoo – die Begegnung mit deinen tierischen Helden geht dir sicherlich unter die Haut. Im interaktiven Ausstellungspavillon kannst du unter die Wasseroberfläche abtauchen und auch das Leben in Gebirgsseen und –bächen erforschen.

Wenn Natur und Technik aufeinandertreffen
Stauseen Wasserfall- und Moserboden

Wo Natur und Technik aufeinandertreffen entstehen die wunderlichsten Dinge. Umzingelt von der 3000er Gipfelwelt, an der Grenze zum Nationalpark Hohe Tauern liegen die beiden Hochgebirgsstauseen Moserboden und Wasserfallboden, wo Wasserkraft zur Erzeugung von Grünstrom genutzt wird. Wie das funktioniert kannst du in der Erlebniswelt Strom oder im Rahmen einer Staumauerführung auf gut 2000m Seehöhe genauer ergründen.